Skip Navigation
Your first step into early childhood education & care
My favourites

Child Care Ratings

Education and care services across Australia are assessed and rated by their state and territory regulatory authority.

All the approved services are assessed against the seven quality areas of the National Quality Standard.

Quality Assesment 1

Educational program and practice

Your child is supported to participate in play and learning
Quality Assesment 2

Children’s health and safety

Your child is protected from illness and hazards
Quality Assesment 3

Physical environment

Your child plays in a safe and well maintained environment
Quality Assesment 4

Staffing arrangements

There are enough qualified staff to give your child the attention they need
Quality Assesment 5

Relationships with children

Your child is made to feel supported and welcomed
Quality Assesment 6

Collaborative partnerships with families and communities

Local community involvement and respect for the beliefs and values of families
Quality Assesment 7

Governance and leadership

Your child is cared for in a positive and well managed environment

They are given a rating for each quality area (above) and an overall rating based on these results. You should consider all these ratings when choosing a service

Most services will receive one of the three middle ratings below.

Chart displaying the child care quality ratings and what each of them mean - Significant Improvement Required, Working towards National Quality Standard (NQS), Meeting NQS, Exceeding NQS and Excellent

You might also come across a service with the following classification, ‘Provisional - The service has not yet been assessed'. This is because services are generally allowed 6 months or so after approval prior to being assessed, and during this time they show this rating.

See our checklist on how to spot quality on your first visit to an early childhood service.

If you wish to know more about the Assessment and Ratings process, read our resource on the topic.

More information