Skip to main content
resources / children and services / choosing a service / service quality ratings

Service quality ratings

Last updated: January 31, 2024

Jump ahead to a section

Service Quality Ratings

The National Quality Standard (NQS) has seven quality areas that are important for better health and education outcomes for children. Children's education and care services are assessed and rated against the NQS by regulatory authorities in each state/territory.

The National Quality Framework sets a high national standard to encourage services to continually improve their programs and practices.

1 - Educational program and practice
Your child is supported to participate in play and learning

2 - Children’s health and safety
Your child is protected from illness and hazards 

3 - Physical environment
Your child plays in a safe and well maintained environment 

4 - Staffing arrangements
There are enough qualified staff to give your child the attention they need 

5 - Relationships with children
Your child is made to feel supported and welcomed 

6 - Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
Local community involvement and respect for the beliefs and values of families 

7 - Governance and leadership
Your child is cared for in a positive and well managed environment

They are given a rating for each NQS quality area and an overall National Quality Standard service quality rating based on these results. You may find this information helpful when choosing a service.


Service promotes exceptional education and care, demonstrates sector leadership, and is committed to continually improving.

This rating can only be awarded by ACECQA.

Services rated Exceeding National Quality Standard in all 7 Quality Areas may choose to apply for this rating.

Exceeding National Quality Standard

Service goes beyond the requirements of the National Quality Standard in at least four of the seven quality areas.

Meeting National Quality Standard

Service meets the National Quality Standard.

Service provides quality education and care in all seven quality areas.

Working Towards National Quality Standard

Service provides a safe education and care program, but there are one or more areas identified for improvement.

Significant Improvement Required

Service does not meet one of the seven quality areas or a section of the legislation and there is a significant risk to the safety, health and wellbeing of children.

The regulatory authority will take immediate action.

Provisional - The service has not yet been assessed

You might come across a service with ‘Provisional - Not Yet Assessed'. Services not yet assessed under the National Quality Framework are given a rating of ‘Provisional–Not Yet Assessed ’ and must display this rating at the service.

Similar articles

Challenging behaviour: biting
Last updated: March 25, 24
8 to 12 month olds
Last updated: March 20, 24
Brought to you by ACECQA - Australian Children’s Education & Care Quality AuthorityStarting Blocks logo
Connect with us
ACECQA acknowledges the Traditional Owners and Custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, water and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the Elders past and present.